Official 2016 KSA general election results

Only two returning councillors re-elected

The official results and vote-counts from the 2016 Kwantlen Student Association general election have been released.

Kwantlen’s Chief Returning Officer Corey Van’t Haaff conducted a regulated recount for the students with disabilities representative position, and those results show that Landon Charney defeated incumbent Kim McMartin with 101 votes to 92, confirming his new position.

Murdoch de Mooy now replaces incumbent Chanel Kwong as Richmond campus representative. With these results, the only returning councillors are the new Surrey campus representative Tanvir Singh and returning arts representative Alex McGowan.

The newly elected councillors will take office on April 1.

Campus Representatives:

Langley Campus:

Connor Griffiths, 145.
Tyler Wenman, 122.

Richmond Campus:

Murdoch de Mooy, 133.
Beth Faszer, 56.
Damanpreet Garcha, 87.
Chanel Kwong, 39.

Surrey Campus:

Tanvir Singh, 203.
Arpan Checi, 160.

Faculty Representatives:

Faculty of Arts:

Sarah Barahmeh, 83 YES, 22 NO.
Orlando (Alex) Lomelino-Austin, 73 YES, 28 NO.
Alex McGowan, 78 YES, 23 NO.

Faculty of Science and Horticulture:

Gurkiran “Kiran” Johal, 57 YES, 10 NO.
Nicholas Young, 37 YES, 16 NO.

School of Business:

Rawan Ali, 84 YES, 48 NO.
Amanpreet Bir-Bhatti, 107 YES, 47 NO.
Argel Monte De Ramos, 76 YES, 47 NO.
John Shkurtaj, 96 YES, 40 NO.

Constituency Representatives:

International Students:

Navkaran Singh Kahlon, 156.
Zubair Ahmed, 51.
Dilsharn (Sharn) Kaur, 70.

Queer Students:

Ryot Jey, 143 YES, 72 NO.

Students with Disabilities:

Landon Charney, 101.
Kim McMartin, 92.

Women’s Representative:

Natasha Castela Lopes, 195 YES, 36 NO.


facebook comments:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.