About

The Runner is student owned and operated by Kwantlen Polytechnic University students, published under Polytechnic Ink Publishing Society (PIPS).

Funds are collected by the university and channelled to PIPS via the Kwantlen Student Association.

Student Publication Fee opt-outs are available by appointment Monday – Friday with our Operations Manager. Student ID and proof of registration and payment are required.


Meet The Team:

Nicole Gonzalez Filos
Editor in Chief

Nicole (she/her) is a journalism and creative writing student at KPU. In her free time, she enjoys walking her dog Booboo, cooking, and dancing ballet.

editor@runnermag.ca

Kyler Emerson
Associate Editor

Kyler (he/him) is a journalism and English student at KPU. In Kyler’s free time, he enjoys hiking, photography, and playing Pokemon games.

associate@runnermag.ca

Esther Amankop Udoh
Staff Writer

Esther (she/her) is a journalism student at KPU. In her free time, Esther enjoys reading, writing, and spending time with family and friends.

staff@runnermag.ca

Abby Luciano
Community Reporter

Abby (she/her) is a journalism and history student at KPU. She enjoys listening to music, playing video games, and hiking around the Lower Mainland.

community@runnermag.ca 

Kristen Frier
Arts & Humour Editor

Kristen (she/her/they/them) is a fine arts student at KPU. Kristen plays bass, does freelance graphic design, and strongly believes that you can never have too many leopard print coats.

graphics@runnermag.ca

Keet Kailey
Photo Editor

Keet (he/him) is a science student at KPU. He is passionate about photography, learning new things, and exploring new places. He plays guitar in a band, and loves visiting new cafés and trying different donuts.

photos@runnermag.ca

Claudia Culley
Video Producer

Claudia (she/her) is a journalism and public relations student at KPU. In her spare time, Claudia enjoys hiking, baking, and making pottery for her Etsy shop.

video@runnermag.ca

Rachel De Freitas
Web Manager

Rachel (she/her) is a graphic design student at KPU. You can usually find her enjoying nature, discovering new music, or designing something. 

web@runnermag.ca

Scott Boux
Operations Manager
office@runnermag.ca
778-565-3801