About

The Runner is student owned and operated by Kwantlen Polytechnic University students, published under Polytechnic Ink Publishing Society (PIPS).

Funds are collected by the university and channeled to PIPS via the Kwantlen Student Association.

Student Publication Fee opt-outs are available in The Runner office (Arbutus 3710, Surrey campus) during the first month of every semester. Student ID and proof of registration and payment are required.


Meet The Team:

Nicole Gonzalez Filos
Editor in Chief

Nicole is a journalism and creative writing student at KPU, and uses she/her pronouns. In her free time, she enjoys walking her dog Booboo, cooking, and dancing ballet.

editor@runnermag.ca
Amanda Perley
Production Manager
Braden Klassen
Managing Editor

Braden is a KPU journalism graduate, and uses he/him pronouns. Braden likes reading, photography and ardently defending pineapple's validity as a pizza topping.

managing@runnermag.ca
Alex Rodriguez
Web Manager

Alex is a computer information systems student at KPU, and uses he/him pronouns. Alex spends maybe too much of his free time playing virtual reality video games like Beat Saber and also loves programming.

web@runnermag.ca
Scott Boux
Operations Manager
office@runnermag.ca
778-565-3801
Kristen Frier
Graphics Editor

Kristen is a fine arts student at KPU, and uses she/her/they/them pronouns. Kristen plays bass, strongly believes that you can never have too many leopard print coats, and does freelance graphic design on the side.

graphics@runnermag.ca
Esther Amankop Udoh
Staff Writer

Esther is a journalism student at KPU, and uses pronouns she/her. In her free time, Esther enjoys reading, writing, and spending time with family and friends.

staff@runnermag.ca
Kyler Emerson
Associate Editor

Kyler is a journalism and English student at KPU, and uses he/him pronouns. In Kyler’s free time, he enjoys hiking, photography, and playing pokemon games.

associate@runnermag.ca
Dani Penaloza
Community Reporter

Dani is a journalism student at KPU, and uses she/her pronouns. When Dani isn't writing, she can be found listening to Hozier and daydreaming about running off to bake sourdough bread in a cottage deep within the woods.

community@runnermag.ca