About

The Runner is student owned and operated by Kwantlen Polytechnic University students, published under Polytechnic Ink Publishing Society (PIPS).

Funds are collected by the university and channeled to PIPS via the Kwantlen Student Association.

Student Publication Fee opt-outs are available by appointment Monday – Friday with our Operations Manager. Student ID and proof of registration and payment are required.


Meet The Team:

Nicole Gonzalez Filos
Editor in Chief

Nicole is a journalism and creative writing student at KPU, and uses she/her pronouns. In her free time, she enjoys walking her dog Booboo, cooking, and dancing ballet.

editor@runnermag.ca
Braden Klassen
Managing Editor

Braden is a KPU journalism graduate, and uses he/him pronouns. Braden likes reading, photography and ardently defending pineapple's validity as a pizza topping.

managing@runnermag.ca
Kyler Emerson
Associate Editor

Kyler is a journalism and English student at KPU, and uses he/him pronouns. In Kyler’s free time, he enjoys hiking, photography, and playing pokemon games.

associate@runnermag.ca
Esther Amankop Udoh
Staff Writer

Esther is a journalism student at KPU, and uses pronouns she/her. In her free time, Esther enjoys reading, writing, and spending time with family and friends.

staff@runnermag.ca
Dani Penaloza
Copy Editor

Dani is a journalism student at KPU, and uses she/her pronouns. When Dani isn't writing, she can be found listening to Hozier and daydreaming about running off to bake sourdough bread in a cottage deep within the woods.

copy@runnermag.ca

Abby Luciano
Community Reporter

Abby is a journalism and history student at KPU and uses she/her pronouns. In her free time, she enjoys listening to music, playing video games, and hiking around the Lower Mainland.

community@runnermag.ca 

Amanda Perley
Production Manager

Amanda is a graphic design student at KPU, and uses she/her pronouns. She loves to sew, listen to music, and spends a little too much time online shopping.

production@runnermag.ca
Kristen Frier
Graphics Editor

Kristen is a fine arts student at KPU, and uses she/her/they/them pronouns. Kristen plays bass, strongly believes that you can never have too many leopard print coats, and does freelance graphic design on the side.

graphics@runnermag.ca
Netanya Castillo
Video Producer

Netanya is a KPU journalism student and uses she/her pronouns. She enjoys creative photography and when she’s not attending to her cat and plants, you can find her binging anime.

video@runnermag.ca

Rachel De Freitas
Web Manager

Rachel is a graphic design student at KPU, and uses she/her pronouns. In her free time, you can either find her enjoying nature, discovering new music, or designing something. 

web@runnermag.ca

Scott Boux
Operations Manager
office@runnermag.ca
778-565-3801