KSA Council By-Election Winners Announced

KSA 2017 by-election winners.

The results of the 2017 Kwantlen Student Association By-Election were announced Oct. 19.

Emily Haugen, Mamanjot Kaur, and Munir Khalid-Dossa are the KSA’s new constituency representatives. With 90 votes, Haugen was elected the Aboriginal Students Representative while her competitors, Sarah Strachan and Bruce Ferguson, received 50 and 38 votes, respectively.

Kaur is the new International Students Representative with 143 votes, followed by Manpreet Singh, who received 77. Dossa is the new Students of Colour Representative, with 149 votes in his favour and 32 against.

As for faculty representatives, Paula Aguilar will be representing the Design Faculty with 45 votes and Rabia Khan will be representing the Science and Horticulture Faculty with 50. Joseph Beland, who also ran for Science and Horticulture Faculty Representative, received 25.

The Langley campus will now be represented by Bilan Hassan, who got 134 votes in support of her election and 33 against. Damanpreet Garcha is the new Richmond Campus Representative with 115 votes. Landon Charney, who ran against Garcha for the position, received 63.

Still, there are four empty KSA Council positions remaining: the Queer Students Representative, Faculty of Academic & Career Advancement Representative, Faculty of Health Representative, and Faculty of Trades and Technology Representative.


facebook comments:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.